The eVISA for Ethiopia

The eVISA for Ethiopia is an electronic travel authorization issued by the government of Ethiopia. The eVisa is an entry requirement to travel to and within Ethiopia. The Ethiopian eVISA is for touristic or family visit purposes.

Visitors who enter Ethiopia for tourism are required to present a valid eVISA at the port of entry.

passport example

Entry Specifications for Ethiopian eVISA, Length of Authorized Stay and Validity

The Ethiopian eVISA is a single-entry visa that authorizes entry into Ethiopia for thirty (30) or ninety (90) days depending on the applicant's selection.

Passport guidelines for the Ethiopian eVISA

The traveler’s passport must be valid for at least (6) months from arrival date in Ethiopia.

Entry Ports for Ethiopia

Approved eVISA holders can enter Ethiopia via Bole International Airport in Addis Adaba.

Eligible countries

Citizens of all countries with his/her residence in one of the countries listed below are eligible for an Ethiopian e-VISA, including the United States, United Kingdom, China, Germany, Italy and Kenya.

Afghanistan Aland Islands Albania Algeria American Samoa
Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda
Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria
Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados
Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda
Bhutan Bolivia Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana
Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso
Burundi Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic
Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands
Colombia Comoros Congo Congo, The Democratic Republic of the Cook Islands
Costa Rica Croatia Cuba Curacao Czech Republic
Denmark Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt
El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Falkland Islands (Malvinas)
Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana
French Polynesia Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany
Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada
Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau
Guyana Haiti Honduras Hungary Iceland
India Indonesia Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ireland
Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey
Jordan Kazakhstan Kiribati Korea North Korea South
Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People's Democratic Republic Latvia Lebanon
Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania
Luxembourg Macau Macedonia Madagascar Malawi
Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands
Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico
Micronesia, Federated States of Moldova, Republic of Monaco Mongolia Montenegro
Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia
Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand
Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island
Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Palau Palestinian Territory
Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines
Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar
Republic of Cyprus Reunion Romania Russian Federation Rwanda
Saint Barthelemy Saint Helena Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia
Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore
Sint Maarten (Dutch part) Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia
South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Sudan Spain Sri Lanka
Sudan Suriname Svalbard and Jan Mayen Swaziland Sweden
Switzerland Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of Thailand Timor-Leste
Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia
Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda
Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uruguay
Uzbekistan Vanuatu Vatican City Venezuela Vietnam
Virgin Islands, British Virgin Islands, U.S. Wallis and Futuna Zambia Zimbabwe

The Ethiopian Government is constantly adding new countries to this list. If your country of Residence country is not mentioned in the below list, you will need to contact your nearest embassy or consulate.

All travelers who possess a valid passport can submit their Ethiopia eVISA application online here.

Additional evidence requirements:

When you apply, you only need your passport information. If your application requires more documentation, you can provide it later on.

  • A copy of your passport
  • A recent passport-style color photo
  • Copy of residency card

Checkpoint Requirements to Enter Ethiopia

All visitors that have an approved eVISA must present the following documents upon arrival at the Ethiopian port of entry:

  • A printout of the approved Ethiopian eVISA;
  • Passport valid for at least 6 months (must match the one used to complete the eVISA online application)

Verify Ethiopian eVISA status

Ethiopia eVISA applicants will get updates and notifications via email regarding the status of their application. When it is completed and approved, the eVISA will be sent directly via email to the applicant.

Check the status of your application here.

Application for the Ethiopian eVISA

To request an eVISA for Ethiopia, visitors are required to have a valid passport, credit card, and email address.

Please note that the information provided in the online eVisa application, including your name, date and place of birth, address, sex, nationality, and passport number, must appear exactly as shown on the passport or other appropriate travel document.

To apply for an Ethiopian eVISA, visitors can submit their online eVISA application here.